Don’t Wait, Hire A Personal Injury Lawyer!
A personal injury attorney can help you recover money after an accident to pay for your medical bills and loss of income. Different states have different laws for personal injury lawsuits, including how long you have to file a claim and how much you can recover in damages. If you think you have a personal injury claim, contact a personal injury lawyer where you live for legal advice and help getting paid for your losses.
Types of Personal Injury Accidents
Personal injury lawsuits must be filed with the court within a specific timeframe. The statute of limitations is the time limit for filing a legal claim. The statute of limitations varies by state and may also change based on the type of legal claim. For example, you have three (3) years to file a personal injury lawsuit in Washington. The time period within which you have to file a lawsuit is called the statute of limitations (SOL). However, in California, a personal injury claim must be filed within 2 years from the date of the injury.
There may be exceptions for injuries not discovered until later or more time for minors who suffered an injury. For example, in Rhode Island, a minor who suffers a medical malpractice injury must file a medical malpractice claim within 3 years of turning 18. There may also be shorter time limits when a personal injury claim is filed against the state or local government. For example, in New York, if you suffer a personal injury accident involving the city, a notice of claim must be filed with the city within 90 days of the date of the accident.
It is essential to talk to a personal injury lawyer in your state as soon as possible to ensure your case is filed in time. Filing one day late may mean you are barred from recovering money for your injuries.